I'm looking forward to diving into this world called Second Life. Quite honestly, I really don't get it and don't understand why their avatars are so "off-the-wall." I assume there are good and no so good "islands" in the 3D environment, but I've just struggled to find out what the point is. So in any case, I am going to dive in 3D glasses and all and join in to participate in this Pre-conference for Learning 2.008 called SL 2.008 that is coming up at the end this month on into September. I'm actually really excited about this because the presenters of the pre-event are folks that I met at EduBlogger Con and NECC 2008. Secondarily, I really think that this format for online "conferences" has real promise in sharing information and collaborating with folks all over the world. Learn more about the SL 2.008 pre-conference below. Look forward to seeing you there.

David Gran one of the main conference organizers of SL 2.008 and Chris Smith who owns International School Island in Second Life have been working to create a SLearning 2.008 Pre-Conference not only for those who will attend the live conference in Shanghai but for all who want to participate virtually.

The Pre-conference will take place at the International School Island in Second Life with three pre-conference sessions. Below are the dates, times, and events.

Dates (Sundays)

Times

  • 6:00am S.L. time (California)
  • 9:00am New York time
  • 2:00pm UK time
  • 5:00pm Dubai time
  • 8:00pm Bangkok time
  • 9:00pm Hong Kong/China time

If you are unfamiliar with Second Life, its a great opportunity to log on and give it a whirl. It’s pretty easy to get started, but you’ll need to download the program from : http://secondlife.com/ . Once you’ve downloaded the program, entering the SLurl below into your browser will take you directly to International Schools Island.

Venue * International Schools Island * SLurl http://tinyurl.com/2o44dw
http://slurl.com/secondlife/International%20Schools%202/71/172/56

Views: 50

Tags: 2.0, Conference, Online, SecondLife, classroom, collaborate, community, mac, network, pc, More…social, technology, weareteachers, web, widget

Comment

You need to be a member of Classroom 2.0 to add comments!

Join Classroom 2.0

Report

Win at School

Commercial Policy

If you are representing a commercial entity, please see the specific guidelines on your participation.

Badge

Loading…

Follow

Awards:

© 2020   Created by Steve Hargadon.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service