I can't believe we only have 3 weeks until school starts. This is my first year in the lab and I'm getting a little nervous especially about the K-1 kiddos. I went to school today and found out rather than having the classes twice a week for 30 minutes, I'm only getting them once a week and for 40 minutes. What do I do with Kindergarteners for 40 minutes!!! Especially in the beginning of the year. I sure wish our Admin would let the teachers have some input in our schedule. Argggg.

I'd like some feedback. Am I stressing for nothing. Is 40 minutes a reasonable amount of time to teach K in the lab?

Views: 50

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Ruth, Actually it may work out well as you spend a considerable amount of that time just getting them into their chairs and settled so you can cross that time off of the list each week. That will give you a full 30 minutes to teach.

I know you already know this but I will mention it in passing. Kindergarten kids are the best and they can learn anything but it will take a lot of the first part of your term just teaching them the proper procedures for coming into the lab etc. I wouldn't expect a lot of IT learning to go on for a while as you will be teaching them social and lab behaviour which is all part of it. I would lower your expectations as far as what they will learn IT wise but raise them as far as your lab behaviour expectation etc. Remember, what they get a strong foundation in in Kindergarten will mean you don't have to reteach it in Grade One, just review and remind. :)

I taught Kindergarten for 10 years and they were the best.

Good luck. Let me know how it works out.

Heather
I agree, little kids can be so great. I would say the two tricks to maintaining your sanity are...

1) remember they are little kids and they will act like little kids. As was already said plan on investing a lot of time into teaching them how to act. It will pay off in the years to come.