The Best Web 2.0 applications in k-6 with an emphasis on the kinder

I'm a Tech/Curriculum TOSA and I'm looking for the best ideas for k-6 tech integration. This group has tremendous ideas. Can anyone help me to spice up my current focus and direct me into some great Web 2.0 applications that work with the younger kids? I appreciate all levels, but of course, kinder, 1, 2 etc.. seem to be the toughest to truly integrate.

Tags: 2.0, Tech, Web, blogs, help, integration, wikis

Views: 82

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Erik,

You may be in a position to test a theory of mine that occured to me when I was teaching tech to the K-2 crowd. I made a flash program to help the kids see the alphabet on the keyboard. It is called AlphaKey: http://www.educationalsynthesis.org/movies/AlphaKey.html

The year I did it, the Kindergarten teachers were using an interesting method. They established among the classes (about 6) the Letter of the Week. I do not know the source of the order they presented the letters in, it was not in alphabetical sequence. When the kids came in the lab, I asked each class what was the letter of the week, and to sign into the lab, they had to type that letter into an excel spreadsheet on the line for their name. Then they did used a word processor to type the letter a few times after typing their first name a few times. They also typed a few easy words that began with that letter after we discussed some in the pre-lesson. In class each week, they did a number of activities with the Letter of the Week.

I would be curious if integrating the teaching of Letter of the Week with using that letter on the keyboard helps the child not only learn the letter, but also learn to find the letter on the keyboard for early word processing. I had only 25 min a week with each class, so there wasn't much time to see if it would integrate.