I am a Middle School Science teacher in a rather rural community. I would love to start using some of the things that 2.0 has to offer but I am not sure where to start. Does anyone have any experience with this kind of community with some 2.0 stuff. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Tags: help, middle, science

Views: 879

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I also teach MS science in a rural area. My students podcast and I show some of the videos on this site in class. They like to see what other students are doing and then they want to try it!
I am don't teach at school. But I came across this paper that could help provide a large overview of the web 2.0 available out there that you can use in your classroom Back to School with the Class of Web 2.0: Part 1.

Sorry, I can't offer more specific recommendation.
Thanks for this, I found it very useful. I bookmarked a few sites and added one to delicious.
As a middle school computer teacher, I'm trying to figure out how to use Web 2.0 also. I've started a wiki to teach people about Web 2.0. http://southwestms.wikispaces.com/Wiki

We are doing an inservice for our teachers in a couple of weeks, and will use this site, but also plan on using it to teach students about the possibilities. We are planning on doing some blogging with 7th graders later in the year. With the wealth of new programs coming out, I'm sure we will find others to use also.

Gary
Nice wiki Gary. I've been trying to convince teachers in my school to take the web 2.0 plunge. So far, it's much easier to get them to buy into wikis than blogs, which for whatever reason instill nervousness among my colleagues.

I might reference your wiki to them . . .
That would be great! Feel free to add to it if you have any good sites that help with Web 2.0.