In the UK all schools are required to have a VLE by 2008. There are other forces at work like 'Building Schools for the Future' that are also putting pressure on to adopt various VLE solutions. One consequence is that althought the largest VLE community - Moodle - has the most experience, the government via BECTA are putting significant status and money behind the commercial alternatives because of a lack of organised advocacy.
Whilst my Local Education Authority debates the BECTA prefered VLEs in conversation with itself, we continue to build an increasingly complex and sophisticated systembased on the open source Moodle.

Views: 49

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Chris,

You do not say, but I assume from your post that you are a teacher in a school rather that FE or HE. I am a teacher in further Education (work based learning) and have responsibilty for the learning environment at my institution. I am at the very early stages of getting a system up and running and I am using moodle. This decision was not made just because moodle is free but because I saw it as easy to use. I do not know how easy the bought systems are, because have not been able to try them but they are all and 'empty box' when you get them so it's better to see an empty box that cost nothing than an empty box that cost several thousand pounds! However, all parties do need to get together to ensure that one system is chosen so that students can become familiar with it.
Chris,
That's crazy (but somehow typical in education). It's interesting to find similarities between the US and the UK in terms of their willingness to try open source over proprietary (read: expensive) alternatives.
What type of advocacy would help the BECTA see Moodle as a viable resource?
Very best,
Joe
Hi Chris, Mike and Joe:

Perhaps there needs to be a Moodle among the Classroom 2.0 communities to help promote Moodle's adoption, Just snipped this form the Classroom 2.0 wiki: