I teach English/Language Arts and Computer Skills to middle school students, and also computer skills to teachers in a 6-12 private school. I've been asked for an easy way to create podcasts. I've played around with Audacity but it's way more complicated than we need. Teachers just want to record and then post to their class website. It's easy finding somebody else's content, but we want our own. Ideas and suggestions are extremely welcome.

Thanks, Fran

Tags: podcast, tool

Views: 100

Replies to This Discussion

Hello,
I have been experimenting with different scenarios for podcasting for the last several months. I tried using Audacity when I only had a PC. I used Gcast to host the podcast. Then, I went to a free weekend seminar on podcasting and blogging. It was incredible the diversity of people that I met who are using or are trying to use this technology. While there I was introduced to a host that provides several services for podcasting and makes it very easy to place on the web. It is libsyn.com. I have been using my MAC which makes podcasting incredibly simple. Now, as a language arts teacher my class is in full swing using the podcast to record papers that the students write and putting them on the internet for others it hear. The students love it, the parents love it and I love the pedagogical benefits that it has given to my students. My answer for the easy to use podcast technology has been recording in Garage Band on the Mac, then loading it onto the host at Libsyn.com and Itunes.