What are people using for school websites and class pages? Also, has anyone used eChalk? If so, what are your thoughts on that as a resource for school websites and class pages?

Tags: class, pages, school, student, websites

Views: 72

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I have several sites. I design my own and serve my personal site myself. I also have multiple sites through the district that serve different purposes. You can see a list of all our stuff here.
Nancy,

Thank you for your sharing. I am going to look at this more deeply, but I'm wondering,how your personal site powered? Who is the provider? Also, who hosts "Broken Arrow Enhanced Learning Center" official classroom site with student pics and work?
I use Web.com as a host for A Different Place but it is more expensive than some. Our school district hosts The Broken Arrow EL site. All my sites are done with Microsoft Frontpage.
I recently called Web.com, told them I was a poor teacher and they lowered my fee from $250.00 a year to $7.00 a month (probably the current rate, I just hadn't checked in five years!). They have excellent customer service and are 110% reliable.
You might want to consider making your class page using googlepages (www.pages.google.com). It's super easy to use and everything is stored on the google server. The pages are user-friendly, ad-free and easy to customize without knowing html.

Good Luck!
Crystal,

Thank you so much for the feedback!!!! Are you using this in a school?
Hi Lisa,

I also recommend you take a look at WiZiQ's Virtual Classroom if your interested in online instruction.

Another web tool that maybe helpful is authorSTREAM, a power point web based presentation tool. You can upload your power points on the web for everyone to see.
I use Google Sites. It's easier to use than Google Pages and can serve as a Wiki (i.e. you can let other people collaborate on the web page with you). I think Sites is replacing Google Pages.