In the past, the computer teacher has handed out awards of some kind to each of our graduating 8th graders at a graduation breakfast. This is my first year teaching computers at the school and rather handing out awards, I would like to put on some kind of presentation made by the 8th grade class for their parents & teachers.

I'm kicking around the idea of having them create a slideshow or video of some kind but am confused as to what technology to actually use. I want the kids to take pictures of things that they'll always remember about the school and pictures with the teachers they've had and include their class pictures from each year and their graduation picture and to have them add their thoughts about the school and their memories of their teachers and classes to the pictures somehow. I would then like to be able to burn this to a DVD for each of the students and to show at the breakfast.

We have old (8 years or more) Windows XP machines in the computer lab with minimal disk space available (less than 2GB available on any given machine) and older monitors with not the greatest graphics cards and only 256MB of memory so I'm pretty sure Windows Movie Maker won't work for us. I thought about maybe using Photo Story since that requires less system resources than Movie Maker though I'm sure it won't run well on the machines we have due to the low amount of memory in the machines.

The more I have thought about it the more I am now leaning toward using VoiceThread so that I can have access at home and with the download ability I can burn the end result to DVD. We don't have any way of showing computer files on a big screen but we do have a large TV with a DVD player so I will need a DVD to show at the breakfast. VoiceThread will also let the kids share the VoiceThread with relatives that don't live in the area. In your opinion, does this sound like a feasible option?