I am a tech trainer at a service unit in NE. we are going to be hosting "Technology Academy for Social Studies" workshop for our area SS teachers. We plan to discuss digital storytelling and podcasting with them. we would like to include some web 2.0 tools where appropriate. If you were going to go to a workshop like this, what would you like to learn about? As social studies teachers what are some of your favorite tech tools? Are there other technologies you think we should demonstrated?

Also, would it work to encourage our group to join this group discussion site? This might be a great place to "gather." I do have a wiki set up for them but this might be fun too.

Thanks!

Tags: education, social, studies

Views: 21

Replies to This Discussion

This might sound silly, but as a history teacher I'd like to know about some of the history resources available. I've been discovering in the past year that there's a lot of old Canadian newspapers online. This is really cool as I see it. I use to have to go to quite a bit of effort to get these same papers when I was doing my MA, and now I can bring them into my classroom using the Net. I'm not sure how many history teachers know about the increasing number of primary sources available, but they really should.

I admit it's not exactly Web 2.0, but I think it'd be a great jumping off point. Every history teacher could see the value of the Net for primary source documents, and once you've got him/her there, you reel him in and show him the fancier toys.