The NYC DOE is considering becoming more deeply involved in Moodle. I was wondering if there's a place that creators of Moodle classes can go to share what they've created with one another. It seems crazy that teachers all over would start from scratch rather than create and share their resources. Any thoughts?

Lisa

Tags: Moodle, lesson, sharing

Views: 20

Replies to This Discussion

I'm an Intern at the WebcastAcademy.net, which operates under the Creative Commons License.
Please take a look at the curriculum: http://www.webcastacademy.net/book/curriculum
The WebcastAcademy.net is a hands on, online collaborative training center for people interested in learning how to produce and host live, interactive webcasts with worldwide participants. English and Spanish language modules are being produced. Further languages are forecasted.

I like the innovative issues addressed, but as things are moving so fast "muddling through" has been the favored approach up to now. Convergence of the course into Moodle and into 3D virtual worlds is under way.
Lisa, what you say is very true. There are a large number of attempts to get this going and one of them is going to suceed. On this side of the Atlantic http://www.nwlg.org/ has a project under way in which they create a repository of Moodle based work. The down side is that entry is through local government education authorities who are notoriously conservative and backward. I certainly know of three others and I am trying to get one organised in my own county - Derbyshire, UK.
One thing that would help make it work is a common set of tags so that if I look for what we would call Key Stage 3, or Year nine (students of about 13 years old) you would also recognise from your K12 system. We have a subject called ICT which is the study and use of information technology at school, I am not sure you have it as a seperate subject.

a concrete suggestion to get this going