Hi all. I just found this group so I'm following instructions to introduce myself. While most of the folks I've meet on Classroom 2.0 are working in schools, I lead a volunteer-based tutor/mentor program that operates in the non-school hours (after 5pm on week nights) and connects inner city teens with workplace volunteers. This is called Cabrini Connections. You can learn about what we do at http://www.cabriniconnections.net . I encourage you to take a look at the extra learning and technology programs. By recruiting volunteers from the business community we expand the network of adults who help expand the experiences and aspirations of kids, and we connect them with adults who use technology, arts, video in their jobs and careers. I've been leading a program like this for over 30 years, starting as a volunteer in 1973.

The Tutor/Mentor Connection is a second part of the organization I lead. During 1975-1990 while I was first leading a tutor/mentor program as a volunteer, I held a corporate advertising job. I learned that you need to constantly communicate using mass media to support stores located all over the country. As a leader of a tutor/mentor program, I applied the same concepts to communicate to youth and volunteers. I also began to build connections between other Chicago programs and my own, so I could learn from them, and they from me. In 1993 I formalized this concept into the Tutor/Mentor Connection and we began building a database of all of the tutor/mentor programs in Chicago, and used this to help each program get more of the volunteers, dollars and ideas needed to be effective. With the Internet, our http://www.tutormentorconnection.org web site now shares the information we collect with people from all over the world and many of our volunteers are people who live in different cities. For instance, the T/MC web site was built by a team from IUPUI in Indiana.