Dear Colleagues,
I have been wanting to make my website more interactive: www.globalization101.org. The problem has been a small staff and relatively small budget. I'm not a techie and run the site through a content managment system. We do not want to reinvent the wheel, yet we want to keep people on the site. I have a good team in India who can write the codes for me and put the system on the site - I need to tell them what I want to create/add. The site is geared to high school and college educators and students and so this resource could be for students or for educators. I will welcome all suggestions. Thank you.

Views: 50

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Thanks for your quick response. It confirms many of the ideas I wanted to start with - social bookmarks, RSS feeds, and building the framework for a blog (with hopes of recruiting guest bloggers to lead conversations on different topics).

My only worry about the video/audio is the size of the site - it will cost a lot more to pay for the next level of bandwidth and I don't have the funds to commit to the increase bandwidth until we get our next grant..
No need to have them upload it to your site. Just make it easy to pull content in from popular media sharing sites (YouTube, Flickr, and the like). I'd also encourage you not to rely on a single one of those services since your audience is likely as global as your topic. This can be done by allowing embed, div, iframe, and other tags that enable content to be served inside a page.

Dan
Hi Rebecca,