Hi All,

Still working on getting our sports language less gender-oriented. Much earlier I wrote about trying to find a word to replace "sportsmanship" and so far have collected only the "bad sportsmanship" equivalent, which was suggested by a British participant: "it's not cricket." Would love to find something to use in a sentence like this: "Wow--the way you all worked together and played your best showed excellent _______________." Anyone have any ideas?

I've been a soccer coach for 18 years, and have been a player for nearly as long, in local Ann Arbor rec-ed and indoor soccer.
I'm glad to report that with consistent and gentle reminders, the women's indoor soccer leagues have now widely changed from "man on" as a warning to teammates to "on you." (It's the same number of syllables, works just as well, and is more generally suitable.) A girl participating at state-level soccer taught me that one, and I've been enlisting help in getting all ages of players to use this phrase. It's taken about two years, but now "man on" is much less used, and is usually corrected. This change is even moving to men's leagues. Yeah!
I think we owe it to the children, particularly to the girls, to make sports everyone's game, on the field and in our language. Is use of "on you" something you can get going in your sports leagues?

You can also send advice about what to do about the notes we get to faculty that are well-intentioned in tone, you know, sort of a buddy-buddy thing, but start, "Hi Guys..."

Opposing views are welcome as well; it's a debate we may need to have.

Thoughts?

Tags: gender, issues, language, sports

Views: 133

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Reactivating this forum a year later, reporting in from the field.