My district is exploring providing students with email accounts, and I'm leading a subcommittee on exploring options and developing policies/regulations recommendations to support the initiative.

Does your district provide student email accounts? If so, what soft/webware are you using? What hurdles have been overcome? What lessons have been learned?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Views: 53

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Scott here. I am doing the same for a private school. Boston Public Schools Mass uses a terrific program Connected to Microsoft Exchange
Secured by Microsoft Internet Security and Acceleration Server
© 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. I moved to a Private school and as a Network Admin my supervisors wants me to create a email accounts. My consultant also loves Microsoft, He claims unless you were top in your field as a Network admin it will be hard to create. Fortunately, if I go with it he will help me get it running at 10,000.00 later. My boss who pays the bills is pushing for first class. They use it in the Brookline Public Schools Brookline Mass. http://www.firstclass.com/ . She really was impressed withit as being user friendly. The cost is about the same. However first choice will give training if you dont have a consultant
scott again I meant first class will train you
We do not have "school" email account, but Hotmail has been allowed. We may be trying out the LIVE@edu format soon. Otherwise I use gmail for the most part. But not without frustrations! See my post at http://birchbark.wordpress.com/2008/10/12/i-found-out-technology-ca...

Email me at bircherd@gmail.com if you want to discuss more.

Dave
I have used both gaggle.net and epals.com. Both are filtered and monitored, have chat rooms that you can set up, file storage, and blogs. I just switched to epals.com because gaggle.net is advertising heavy unless you pay to have the adds removed.
We are testing Google Education Edition.