I am a third grade teacher and I am wanting to use wikis and blogs in the classroom but I am unsure of how to begin. Also I would like to do internet penpals, or epals, but I need another group to correspond with. Please let me know if you have any advice on how to get any of this started. I am excited to hear suggestions

Views: 35

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Angela,
I started using a wiki at the end of last school year with my students. Here is the link to it...

http://bedley32.wikispaces.com/

I teach 4th and 5th graders.

Perhaps it will give you some ideas. Let me know if you have any follow up questions.
Take care,
Tim
Hi, Angela.

I teach third through fifth grade students and began a project entitled, Creative Web Tools for and By Kids. Creative Web Tools For and By Kids is a project designed for students, ages 8 to 12, to use emerging technologies for engaging, thinking, learning, collaborating, creating, and innovating. Description:

The Wik for the project is the workstation for exploring, interacting with, learning from, and creating with emerging technologies. Each student has his or her individual work page. This page is used to identify learning interests, to locate and post links to sites that support those interests, and to begin creating web-based projects to creatively demonstrate their learning experiences. The WIki address is http://weewebwonders.pbwiki.com/About+This+Project:+For+Teachers

My students have begun to identify their topic interests. I created project pages where they will work to explore that topic - see sidebar. I am inviting other classes to join.

Jackie
Hi Angela,

I've just written a post about how I started with blogging, although it is for high school students, there might be something that will help you: Class blogging prep.
Hi Angela,