Hi everyone

I am giving a workshop this week on blogging for a group of about 20 professors at a local college. These are folks who have not blogged before and are interested in determining the possibilities of integrating blogs into the classroom. Most are English and Education professors. Now, I am an elementary teacher and I have worked primarily with k-12 teachers on using blogs and podcasting, and I have plenty of rationale and examples for that level.

I know the question will likely come up, how is blogging different from using Blackboard or WebCT or whatever. Why use blogs at the university level? I can certainly talk through these questions but I thought I would turn to our growing community here for some ideas on how to address these issues.

If there are any folks here who can help provide some stories on how they used blogs for the college/university level, that would be most appreciated.

Or, even, maybe you can help provide some pegagogy behind the use of blogging at that level of learning.

Any tidbits or stories or comments would be welcome.

Sincerely,
Kevin

Tags: blogs, workshops

Views: 94

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I teach at universtiy -- and require my students to use blogs. I do that BECAUSE we use Blackboard.

When a student puts something into Blackboard - discussion, collaboration, whatever -- when the course closes, they lose it. I don't want my students to lose their contributions. They may never access the again, but I want them to have the option.